Die Harvey Awards 2019

© Reed Exhibition Companies

Zum gestrigen Freitag wurden in New York im Zuge der Comic Con wie üblich auch die Harvey Awards verliehen.

Gehostet wurde die Veranstaltung von Craig Baldo, wobei das große Highlight die Aufnahme von Mike Mignola (u. a. „Hellboy“), Alison Bechdel („Fun Home“, „Dykes to Watch Out For“) sowie die Mad-Magazine-Kreativen Will Elder, Jack Davis, John Severin, Marie Severin und Ben Oda in die Hall of Fame der Harvey Awards war. Doch natürlich wurden auch reguläre Preise verliehen. Hier die Nominierten und GewinnerInnen der jeweiligen Kategorien.

Book of the Year
„Hey, Kiddo“ by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)

“Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home” by Nora Krug (Scribner)
“Berlin” by Jason Lutes (Drawn & Quarterly)
“BTTM FDRS” by Ezra Claytan Daniels and Ben Passmore (Fantagraphics)
“Kid Gloves” by Lucy Knisley (First Second)
“Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me” by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)
“My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies” by Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)
“On a Sunbeam” by Tillie Walden (First Second)
“Upgrade Soul” by Ezra Claytan Daniels (Lion Forge)
“When I Arrived at the Castle” by Emily Carroll (Koyama Press)

Digital Book of the Year
„Check, Please“ by Ngozi Ukazu: www.checkpleasecomic.com

“Space Boy” by Stephen McCranie: www.webtoons.com/en/drama/space-boy/list?title_no=400&page=1
“The Contradictions” by Sophie Yanow: www.thecontradictions.com
„The Nib“ edited by Matt Bors: www.thenib.com
“Woman World” by Aminder Dhaliwal: www.webtoons.com/en/challenge/woman-world/list?title_no=100912&page=1

Best Children’s or Young Adult Book
„Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me“ by Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (First Second)

“Hey Kiddo” by Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)
“Mr. Wolf’s Class #2: Mystery Club” by Aron Nels Steinke (Scholastic Graphix)
“New Kid” by Jerry Craft (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
“On a Sunbeam” by Tillie Walden (First Second)

Best Manga
„My Hero Academia“ by Kohei Horikoshi (VIZ Media)

“Frankenstein: Junji Ito Story Collection” by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
“Mob Psycho 100” by ONE (Dark Horse Manga)
“Our Dreams at Dusk” by Yuhki Kamatani (Seven Seas)
“Smashed” by Junji Ito (VIZ Media)
“Witch Hat Atelier” by Kamome Shirahama (Kodansha Comics)

Best European Book
„Waves“ by Ingrid Chabbert and Carole Maurel (Archaia)

“Corto Maltese” by Hugo Pratt (IDW Publishing)
“O Josephine” by Jason (Fantagraphics)
“Radiant” by Tony Valente (VIZ Media)
“Red Ultramarine” by Manuele Fior, translated by Jamie Richards (Fantagraphics)

Best Comics Adaptation Award
„Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse“ by Columbia Pictures and Sony Pictures Animation, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)

Alita: Battle Angel, by 20th Century Fox, based on “Battle Angel Alita” (Kodansha USA)
Avengers: Endgame by Marvel Studios, based on The Avengers (Marvel Comics)
The Boys by Amazon Studios, based on “The Boys” (Dynamite Entertainment)
Captain Marvel by Marvel Studios, based on “Captain Marvel” (Marvel Comics)
Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, by Netflix, based on “Chilling Adventures of Sabrina” (Archie Comics)
Doom Patrol by DC Universe, based on “Doom Patrol” (DC Comics)
Marvel’s Spider-Man by Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive, based on Spider-Man (Marvel Comics)
The Snagglepuss Chronicles, by Provincetown Tennessee Williams Theater Festival and Die-Cast, based on „Exit, Stage Left!: The Snagglepuss Chronicles“ (DC Comics)
The Umbrella Academy by Netflix, based on “The Umbrella Academy” (Dark Horse Comics)

Dieser Beitrag erschien zuerst auf: bizzaroworldcomics.de

Emanuel Brauer ist Betreiber des Comic-Blogs bizzaroworldcomics.de, Autor für das Comic-Fachmagazin Comixene sowie auch für Comic.de.